About

About

IMG - About Parsons ParisPhotography by James Ewing

The mission of the University Libraries & Archives is to provide access to collections of materials sufficient in quality, depth, diversity, format and currency to support the research and teaching missions of The New School.

Bobcat

The New School Libraries & Archives is comprised of the List Center (humanities and social sciences), University Center (art and design), and Scherman (music) Libraries, as well as Archives & Special Collections (New School history) and Kellen Design Archives (archival design materials and Parsons history). Altogether, these collections support The New School’s interdisciplinary approach to education and offer an excellent starting place for research.

The specialized holdings of each collection include a wealth of books, journals, scores, sound and video recordings (feature films, television programs, and musical performances), archival materials, and visual images that are available to every member of the university community (archival materials are also available to the general public).

Library users are encouraged to recommend new items to add to the collections by Requesting a Purchase

Electronic Resources

The New School Libraries & Archives subscribe to electronic databases that include such digital content as e-books, scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, musical scores, sound and video recordings, and images. Currently-enrolled students, faculty, and staff may access databases on-campus or off-campus using MyNewSchool logins.

Consortium Libraries

The New School Libraries & Archives belong to the Research Library Association of Lower Manhattan. Faculty and students in degree-granting programs may use the resources of the member libraries:

University Librarian

55 W. 13th Street - room 901

The University Librarian office is the adminstrative office for the Libraries & Archives. It is the unit responsible for library & archives strategic planning, budgeting, and business operations.

Ed Scarcelle
University Librarian
scarcele@newschool.edu
212.229.5598
Stephen Serwin
Assistant to the University Librarian
serwins@newschool.edu
212.229.5598 x3149

Access & User Services

Access & User Services are responsible for managing the daily check-in/check-out processes of the Libraries & Archives' collections. They also are responsible for working with library fines, mediating physical access to NYU Bobst and other libraries, assessing off-campus database problems, transporting materials to different New School libraries and borrowing through the Inter-Library Loan service.

Andrew Toulas
Director of Access and User Services
toulasa@newschool.edu
212.229.8914 x3054
Lyndon Achee
Assistant to the Librarian
Delivery Services
acheel@newschool.edu
212.229.5309 x2408
Steven Babish
Senior Library Clerk
Circulation
babishs@newschool.edu
212.229.8914 x3396
Gregory Briggler
Assistant to the Librarian
Circulation
briggleg@newschool.edu
212.580.0210 x4803
Deborah Claire
Assistant to the Librarian
Circulation and Inter-Library Loan
claire@newschool.edu
212.229.5307 x3052
Eric Dillalogue
Assistant Director
dillaloe@newschool.edu
212.229.8914 x4121
Dwight Jackson
Senior Library Clerk
Circulation
Stacks Maintenance
jacksond@newschool.edu
212.229.5307 x3366
Richard Law
Senior Library Clerk
Circulation
lawr@newschool.edu
212.229.8914 x3152
Jennifer Roth
Assistant Director
rothj1@newschool.edu
212.229.8914 x4121
Helen Smith
Assistant to the Librarian
Circulation
Fines & Collections
smithh@newschool.edu
212.229.5307 x3169
Janelle Varin
Senior Library Clerk Circulation
Scherman Library
varinj@newschool.edu
212.580.0210 x4803

Archives & Special Collections

66 Fifth Avenue - Lobby Level

The Archives & Special Collections consist of records documenting the history of many of the university, as well as archival and special collections of outside individuals and organizations connected to a diverse range of subjects of interest to the New School community, including twentieth century American design and music, philosophy, and the evolution of adult education.

Wendy Scheir
Director
scheirw@newschool.edu
212.229.5942
Liza Harrell-Edge
Digital Projects Coordinator
Archives
harrelle@newschool.edu
212.229.5942 x2348
Carmen Hendershott
Reference Librarian
Archives
hendersh@newschool.edu
212.229.5307 x3053
Jeanne Swadosh
Archivist
swadoshj@newschool.edu
212.229.5942 x2978

Reference & Instruction

65 Fifth Avenue - 7th Floor

Reference and Instruction staff offer a variety of instructional assistance to library patrons- assistance through email, face-to-face appointments, as well as group and in-class instruction can all be scheduled. The New School Libraries & Archives’ physical and digital collections are curated by the Subject Liaisons, a team of subject specialists--also called selectors--who make purchase decisions based on requests from students, faculty, and staff, course syllabi, and subject expertise.

Kira Appel
Director
appelk@newschool.edu
212.229.8914 x4119
Paul Abruzzo
Instructional Services
Librarian
abruzzop@newschool.edu
212.229.5307 x3055
Rachel Cassiman
Reference and Instruction
Librarian
cassimar@newschool.edu
212.229.8914 x4286
Brita Servaes
Undergraduate Services
Librarian
servaesb@newschool.edu
212.229.5307 x3163
Greg Sigman
Assistant Director for Scherman Music Library
sigmang@newschool.edu
212.580.0210 x4827
Jennifer Yao
Reference and Instruction
Librarian
yaoj@newschool.edu
212.229.8914 x4285

Digital Libraries & Technical Services

55 13th Street - 9th Floor

The Digital Library & Technical Services staff perform a variety of support functions throughout the library - acquiring, licensing, cataloging, and making materials, chosen by Reference & Instruction, accessible in either the physical or electronic collections.

Allen Jones
Director
jonesa@newschool.edu
212.229.5309 x4502

Acquisitions & Cataloging

Arsi Ioannidou
Associate Director
Technical Services
ioannida@newschool.edu
212.229.5309 x4406
Sonya Duffy
Librarian
Acquisitions & Ordering
duffys@newschool.edu
212.229.5309 x4303
Will Edmiston
Librarian
Copyright, Reserves and Permissions
edmistow@newschool.edu
212.229.5309 x4551
Mei-Ling Leung
Assistant to the Librarian
Cataloging
leungm@newschool.edu
212.229.5309 x3162
Togu Oppusunggu
Senior Library Clerk
Reserves Processing
oppusung@newschool.edu
212.229.5309 x3153
Claire Spitzer
Senior Library Clerk
Physical Processing
spitzerc@newschool.edu
212.229.5309 x4440

Electronic Resources & Serials

David Hill
Manager
Electronic Resources & Serials
hilla@newschool.edu
212.229.5309 x4662
Christian Loor
Assistant to the Librarian
loorc@newschool.edu
212.229.5309 x4120
Noemi Montes
Assistant to the Librarian
Electronic Resources & Serials
montesn@newschool.edu
212.229.5309 x3164

Systems & Library Technology

Anthony Dellureficio
Manager
dellurea@newschool.edu
212.229.5309 x4625
Alexis Cavaretta
Assistant Manager for Web Services
cavareta@newschool.edu
212.229.5309 x3365
Michael K
Senior Library Clerk
Systems
kmichael@newschool.edu
212.229.5309 x3040

Visual Resources

Monique Safford
Curator
saffordm@newschool.edu
212.229.5309 x4151
Vera Hoar-Rouse
Assistant to to the Curator
hoarv@newschool.edu
212.229.5309 x4150